Magui Martinez-Pena

Cat 4 Road

Magui, originally from Argentina, has been riding bikes for fun since she was young but only started competing at the age of 28 when she discovered triathlon. Since then, she has completed 2 full Ironman triathlons, 6 half iron distance triathlons and dozens of Olympic and Sprint races. She is a USA Triathlon Level II Coach, BikeFit and F.I.S.T. Certified Bike Fitter and Metabolic Efficiency Training Specialist while keeping her cool head at Headsweats selling and designing performance head wear.

Magui moved to Boulder, Colorado in May, 2016 and has switched from tris to primarily cycling. She discovered MTB and CX which she loves, but still rides mostly road bikes. Magui is excited about getting her cycling career to the next level by joining the Naked Women’s Racing cycling team.

 

Personal Goal: race as much as possible in 2017, crits, stage races, cx and mtb too

Hometown: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Current home: Boulder, CO

Racing disciplines: I enjoy any race! But will focus on crits and cx races most

Racing since: 2005

Favorite Race/racing highlights: Ironman Louisville was my longest bike ride ever and will always have a special place in my heart. Finishing 3rd on my first CX race, done on a MTB!

Bikes: Road – Boardman SLR 9.8. MTB – BMC Speedfox 02. CX – Cannondale SuperX Rival

Pedal preference: Eggbeaters for CX and MTB, Garmin/Look for Road

Rollers or trainer? trainer

Bibs or shorts? bibs for life!

Skinsuit or kit? Kit

Water or drink mix? Nuun Citrus

Favorite mid-ride nutrition: Gels, quick and easy calories

Place I would most like to ride a bike…..after exploring every inch in Colorado probably North Carolina and Europe

When I am not riding a bike I…..food food food, craft beers and friends.