Kari Carey

Cat 4 Road

Kari got sucked into both road and mountain biking after moving to CO 6 years ago, from Minnesota. She was on the club team in 2014-2015 and was able to learn so much in her short time on the team.  She was not able to pursue racing further last season as she gave birth to her son, Finn in April 2016! She is so excited to be able to learn more this year, push herself alongside her new teammates and to further her passion for biking.

When not on a bike, Kari feels lucky to have found a career that she loves as a pediatric physical therapist.  She gets to help children with disabilities learn to move and function better.  She has a passion for adaptive sports, and currently teaches kids’ yoga to children of all abilities.

Personal Goal: To try all types of bike racing and learn as much as I can 

Hometown: St. Paul, MN

Current home: Morrison, CO

Racing disciplines: I’ve only done road and mountain bike races so far

Racing since: 2014

Favorite Race/racing highlights: The accomplishment of completing a sprint triathlon at Bear Creek Lake Park this past September after giving birth in April

Bikes: Road – Fuji (researching for a new one), MTB – Trek Lush

Pedal preference: SPD

Rollers or trainer? Trainer

Bibs or shorts? Bibs

Skinsuit or kit? Kit

Water or drink mix? Water

Favorite mid-ride nutrition: Gels

Place I would most like to ride a bike…..I would love to do a full tour of Colorado some day

When I am not riding a bike I…..love to spend time with family and friends, love watching my son grow and explore the world, adventure throughout Colorado’s endless beautiful scenery by foot, travel when able, pretend I’m a professional cook with my husband, and try new restaurants