Lisa Smith

 Cat 4 Road – Club, Captain

Lisa was born in Columbia, Missouri and graduated from Mizzou with a degree in Early Childhood Education.  She moved to Denver in 1991 with her husband to be closer to the mountains, where she could ski, hike 14ers, run and mountain bike.  After getting several stress fractures in her left leg training for marathons and 1/2 marathons, Lisa decided to ride her bike more and caught the bug.   Lisa works as a Pilates Instructor teaching part-time from her home in Centennial for the past 10 years.  She enjoys the wide variety of clients she sees each week and helping to achieve their different goals in Pilates and fitness.  Lisa’s daughter graduated from Mizzou with a degree in Nursing in 2016 and her son attends CalPoly.  Lisa joined Naked in 2014 on the club team and ended up racing several times in Cat 4.  She just bought a mountain bike and looks forward to riding and perhaps racing MTB also in the future.
Personal Goal:  I want to always do my best and get outside on the bike often!  Also, to meet new people and encourage others to ride!
 
Hometown:  Columbia, MO
Current Home:  Centennial, CO
Racing Disciplines:  road –  hill climbs
Strengths:  endurance and climbing
Racing since: 2015
Riding since:  2006 with casual mountain biking before then
Favorite Race:  Guanella Pass Hill Climb
Favorite Rides:  Ride the Rockies, Bicycle Tour of Colorado, Moab Gran Fondo and Triple By Pass – any ride in the mountains will do!
Hobbies:  photography, hiking, skiing, running, being outdoors, reading
Status:  married with 2 (almost) grown kids
Water or drink mix? both
Favorite mid-ride nutrition:  Gu, PB & J, Kind bars
Bikes:  Trek Madone and Specialized Rhyme
Racing Highlights:  accomplishing both Mt. Evans and Pikes Peak Hill Climbs in 2016
Rollers or Trainer:  outside whenever possible, all year long.  spin bike & trainer at home when bike paths are snowy.
Bibs or shorts:  bibs
Skinsuit or kit:  kit
Pedal preference:  shimano
If you could ride your bike anywhere, where would it be? France, Italy or anyplace with mountains.  I love riding new places!
When I am not riding a bike I ……  teach Pilates and hang out with my husband and our golden retriever & calico cat.