Susan Adamkovics

Cat 2 Road, Cat 2 Cross, Cat 1 Mountain

Susan is a Colorado native, who has always enjoyed the outdoors and believes there is nothing better getting outside and riding her bike. Growing up playing sports like tennis, basketball, soccer and running; Susan has always enjoyed being an athlete. It wasn’t until she met her husband in her thirties that she decided to give mountain biking a whirl. She still couldn’t give up her love for distance running for many years, but finally converted to a committed cyclist/mountain biker in 2009 and has been in love ever since.  So much so, that she has been to all three grand tours in Europe and has climbed some of the toughest mountains they have to offer. For her, it’s a sport where you learn something new every time you ride, whether it’s improving her time up Lookout Mountain or riding a tricky technical section that she didn’t ride before.

Personal Goal: “To continue learning and growing as a competitive road cyclist, cyclocross racer and a mountain biker and be a part of a strong team that has our competitors shaking in their shoes when they see us roll-up to the startline. Also, to help support young ladies and grown women embrace the sport, both on the road and on the trails.”

Nickname: 0,1 (binary – meaning I have only two speeds on or off)

Hometown: West Arvada, CO

Current Home: West Arvada, CO

Racing Disciplines: Road, Mountain, Cyclocross

Strengths: All-arounder

Racing Since: Four years

Favorite Race: Road – Final stage at the Tour of the Gila, Mountain – Tipperary Creek (a.k.a.King of the Rockies), CX – whichever has the most mud!

Hobbies: Racing my bike

Status: Married

Favorite Post Race Drink: Water…I’m serious.

Favorite During Race Drink: Beer…okay, not really, but sometimes I wonder if it would help….I’ll go with Skratch Labs or Naked Juice Coconut Water.

Bikes: A lot, but these are the ones I will race on in 2013: Cervelo P3, Focus Izalco, Specialized Crux, Specialized S-Works Epic

Racing Highlights: In 2012, Road – 1st place SW Pro,1-2 team, Mountain – 3rd place Individual Overall Expert 30-39 in WP series , CX – 1st place SW 35+ team

Rollers or trainer: Both, but I ride trainer more frequently.

Bibs or shorts: Bibs, except when I have to pee.

Skinsuit or kit: Skinsuit baby!

Speedplay, Look or Shimano:  Road – Speedplay, Mtn/CX – Shimano

Carbon or steel: Carbon

If you could ride your bike anywhere, where would it be? The Alps